APOTHEUS share music video for 'Cogito'; new album to be released October 6 on Black Lion Records!

  Van Muylem    18 september 2023

October 6 will see the release of "Ergo Atlas", the upcoming full-length record by Portuguese progressive metal act APOTHEUS, which will be coming out via Black Lion Records. In support of the new album, today, the band has released their fourth and final single "Cogito"

APOTHEUS comments: "Cogito is a memorable and thought-provoking song that explores the dilemma between living a life of pain or accepting death. It's the most philosophical song of the album, and its name, taken from the famous philosophical proposition "Cogito ergo sum," perfectly encapsulates its central theme. The song's intro is particularly noteworthy, building up gradually and smoothly in a way that is unlike anything the band has done before. As the song progresses, the music becomes more urgent and intense, with a memorable chorus that emphasizes the emotional weight of the lyrics. The vocals are forceful and emotive, capturing the pain and desperation of the philosophical struggle at the heart of the song."

With nine tracks spanning over 45 minutes, the band's new album "Ergo Atlas" is a direct sequel to 2019's critically acclaimed "The Far Star", and APOTHEUS continue to explore their storytelling universe with the band's unique blend of melody and experimentation.

Millions of years after "The Far Star" mission took place, an artificial intelligence comes up with an ingenious plan that puts life in the Universe at risk. In this second volume of the saga created in the 2019 album and book, inspired by the work of the science fiction writer Issac Asimov, APOTHEUS introduce new atmospheres and emotions in the nine chapters of the new album, in a roller coaster of melodies, messages and intrigues that will be revealed along with the musical and literary work sequel.

The album was produced by APOTHEUS and Jorge Lopes. Recorded, mixed, and mastered by Jorge Lopes at Redboxstudios, Portugal. "Ergo Atlas" is available for pre-order at THIS LOCATION

"Ergo Atlas" track listing:

01. Shape and Geometry
02. The Unification Project 
03. Firewall
04. Cogito 
05. Ergo Bellum 
06. March to Redemption 
07. Alphae's Sons 
08. Re: union 
09. Re: genesis


Miguel Andrade - Vocals/rhythm guitar
Luís "Gold Monkey" - Lead guitar 
Daniel Rocha - Bass 
Albano “von Hammer” - Drums

For more info visit: