Blackened Death Metal Masters THULCANDRA celebrate album release with new visualizer for final single, "On The Wings Of Cosmic Fire"!

  Van Muylem    21 mei 2023

Two years after the release of their previous chart-topping offering, A Dying Wish, black-death metal frontrunners THULCANDRA celebrate the release of their brand new, critically-acclaimed studio album, Hail The Abyss, out now via Napalm Records!

"With ‘Hail The Abyss’, we count the 5th album within 20 years of Thulcandra“, guitarist/vocalist Steffen Kummerer recently said. "A banger, and a diverse record that shows a unique blend of black and death metal, combined with classic heavy metal twin guitars. ‘Hail The Abyss’ undoubtedly turned into a highlight of our long lasting career.“

Indeed, Hail The Abyss proves yet again why THULCANDRA are atop death metal’s malefic vedette - showcasing their affinity for dark, aggressive and mellifluous metal while the entire album rips and terrorizes with the intensity of hell! As always, THULCANDRA's about a vibe - there's always a unique "feel" that's distinctly old-school, but without the tired trappings of it.

THULCANDRA’s rise to power ignited when the band unleashed their debut album, Fallen Angel’s Dominion, upon metaldom in 2010. The group, fronted by founding member and visionary, Steffen Kummerer (also of Obscura fame), have since tightened their hibernal grip on blackened death metal. The desolate melodic emanations in follow-up studio records Under a Frozen Sun (2011), Ascension Lost (2015), and the chart-topping, 2021 album, A Dying Wish, dedicated to late bassist Chris Kratzer, solidified THULCANDRA as a superior force, expertly thrusting the magic and mystery of mid-’90s melodic black-death metal into the modern era.

Hail The Abyss was produced and recorded by Steffen Kummerer at Klangfabrik, Germany, and was mixed and mastered by renowned producer Dan Swanö (Dissection, Opeth, Katatonia).

Hail The Abyss track listing:
01. In The Eye Of Heaven
02. Hail The Abyss
03. At Night
04. Velvet Damnation
05. On The Wings Of Cosmic Fire
06. Acheronian Cult
07. As I Walk Through The Gateway
08. Blood Of Slaves
09. In Darkness We Descend
10. The Final Closure
11. The Second Fall – Live (CD Bonus Track)
12. Deliverance In Sin And Death – Live (CD Bonus Track)

For More Info Visit:


19.05.2023 GER | Landshut – Rocketclub

09.06.2023 GER | Chronical Moshers Open Air 2023

23.06.2023 GER | Let The Bad Times Roll Festival 2023

21.07.2023 GER | Mörlenbach Weiher – Music Hall

22.07.2023 GER | Rock Unter Den Eichen Festival 2023

27.07.2023 GER | Kassel Goldgrube

28.07.2023 GER | Burning Q Festival 2023

02.09.2023 GER | Ghosts Of Dinmin Festival 2023

Steffen Kummerer – Guitars & Vocals
Mariano Delastik – Guitars
Carsten Schorn – Bass
Alessandro Delastik – Drums